Giannoulias Earns Illinois Teamsters Endorsement

Joint Council 25 Represents 100,000 members
Alexi for Us Logo with white and pink combination.

Giannoulias Earns Illinois Teamsters Endorsement

Joint Council 25 Represents 100,000 members

Teamsters Joint Council 25, which includes 25 union affiliates, has endorsed Democrat Alexi Giannoulias for Illinois Secretary of State.

The Teamsters represent 100,000 Illinois workers across many industries including sales, funeral, movie production, transportation technical, office, warehouse, factory,  excavation, steel and metal trade, retail delivery, automotive, airline and more.

“Alexi has a long history of standing with unions and workers on the job site,” said Teamsters Joint Council 25 President Terrence J. Hancock of the former State Treasurer. “He has fought for increased wages, job creation, affordable healthcare and benefits and protected retirement savings. Alexi will tackle the challenges confronting working families head on and our members will work hard in helping him secure the Democratic nomination for Secretary of State and win the general election in 2022.”

“I’m honored to have received the endorsement of Teamsters Joint Council 25 and the 100,000 hard-working men and women they represent,” Giannoulias said. “The Teamsters play an incredibly important role in growing the labor movement in Illinois and I will continue to earn their support to protect worker rights and support middle-class families.”

The endorsement marks the latest by state and local labor groups for
Giannoulias, including:

  • Service Employees International Union (SEIU) State Council
  • United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW) International Union – Local 881 and Local 1546
  • International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE) – 14 Locals
  • Painters District Local Council No. 30
  • Plasterers and Cement Mason’s Local 502
  • Illinois Pipe Trades Association

Other Press Releases

Contribute to Alexi's Vision

Help Alexi in restoring public trust in government and its elected leaders.