Suburban Mayors Endorse Giannoulias for Secretary of State

Several West Suburban Mayors announced their support today for Democrat Alexi Giannoulias’ campaign for Secretary of State.
Alexi for Us Logo with white and pink combination.

Suburban Mayors Endorse Giannoulias for Secretary of State


Several West Suburban Mayors announced their support today for Democrat Alexi Giannoulias’ campaign for Secretary of State.

The group of mayors from Proviso, Leyden and Riverside Townships joined a growing list of elected officials, including several from the South Side and south suburbs, who are pledging their support for Giannoulias.

“Illinois Mayors have been standing on the front lines for their residents during the pandemic, ensuring people stay safe, delivering essential services and helping small businesses recover stronger than ever,” Giannoulias said. “I’m proud to have received their endorsement, and I will serve as their partner in Springfield by advocating for the needs of municipal governments and their communities.”

The West Suburban Mayors included: Riverside Mayor Joseph Ballerine; Maywood Mayor Nathaniel George Booker; Schiller Park Mayor Nick Caiafa; River Grove Mayor David B. Guerin; Berkeley Mayor Robert E. Lee, Jr.; Franklin Park Mayor Barrett Pedersen; Westchester Mayor Frank Perry; Elmwood Park Mayor Angelo “Skip” Saviano; Melrose Park Mayor Ronald Serpico; Hillside Mayor Joseph Tamburino; and Broadview Mayor Katrina Thompson.

The West Suburban Mayors are among the mayors and elected officials across the State who are endorsing Giannoulias in the 2022 race to succeed current Secretary Jesse White who has indicated he will not run for another term.

Last week, a group of south suburban mayors and other public officials announced their support for Giannoulias, which included: Hazel Crest Mayor and Bremen Township Democratic Committeeperson Vernard Alsberry; Alderperson Anthony Beale (9th Ward); Matteson Mayor Sheila Chalmers-Currin; State Rep. Will Davis (D-30); State Sen. Emil Jones III (D-14); Calumet City Mayor and State Rep. Thaddeus Jones (D-29); Rich Township Supervisor and Committeeperson Calvin Jordan; State Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin (D-38); State Rep. Rita Mayfield (D-60); State Rep. Curtis Tarver II (D-25); and Bloom Township Committeeperson Lori Wilcox.


Other Press Releases

Contribute to Alexi's Vision

Help Alexi in restoring public trust in government and its elected leaders.